Tuned

Marketing, musings, and the future

Be Gretchen

“Be Gretchen.”

 

This is one of my favorite lines from my most recent read, “The Happiness Project.” One of the first resolutions that Gretchen Rubin makes in her yearlong quest to increase her happiness. It stems from her recognition that she spends a lot of time thinking that she should like something or be some way….when it is really not her natural way.

Why do we have this idea that normal is loving big parties and dancing and living life large? Why do we portray normal as extraverted? In the past week I’ve read three things that made me ask this question.

 Frankly, I blame television.

Introverts have a rich inner life or love quiet moments in the garden. Let’s face it, this does not make good tv. For the past 50 years, we have been inundated with narratives that revolve around extraverts….to the point where I hear introverts everywhere saying “I know I’m supposed to like parties, but I really don’t.”

Stop trying to be normal and be who you are.

About 2-3 times a month, I have a young woman come to me asking, “how do I know what I want to do?” And here’s what I tell them:

-Stop listening to the voices that tell you the safe thing you are supposed to do and like

-Look at what you do when you don’t “have” to do anything

-Look at what you did when you were a kid

-Recognize the things you do that make you the most energized.

Be you. And it will become clear.

One comment on “Be Gretchen

  1. kurt_gielen (@kurt_gielen)
    September 16, 2012

    Funny, I recently discovered the Happiness Project myself and have also come to realize being Kurt (for me at least) is a big part of it. I agree TV plays a big part, but also the media as a whole as they all highlight the bright moments of whoever they portrait. I came to this conclusion after reading Keith Richard’s autobiography. Although the book has some crazy, awesome moments, I couldn’t finish the book because so much of his life was boring as hell! Spending hours with Mick Jagger working on songs? Sounds like any other 9 to 5 job to me!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .

Discoveries!

